Van Morrison’s ‘Moondance’ album gets deluxe edition treatment

Van Morrison’s classic album “Moondance” is getting a serious upgrade.

Warner Bros. Records is releasing a newly remastered, five-disc deluxe edition of the album on Oct. 1, 2013.  A double-disc expanded version that features 11 unreleased tracks, and a single-disc, standard album reissue also will be offered.

Moondance became Morrison’s breakthrough album. Following its release by Warner Bros. in February 1970, “Moondance” later was certified triple platinum by the RIAA, inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame (1999) and named No. 65 on the list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” published by Rolling Stone in 2003.

Van Morrison Moondance reissue

The deluxe edition reissue of Van Morrison’s “Moondance” album is packaged in a linen-covered folio and includes both CD and Blu-ray reissues of the original album, plus three discs of never-before-released takes and alternate versions of songs featured on the album. It is available Oct. 1, 2013.

The newly remastered and expanded deluxe version features 50 unreleased tracks including studio outtakes of favorites like “Caravan, “Moondance” and “Into The Mystic,” plus multiple takes and a final mix of the unheard track “I Shall Sing.” A Morrison original, “I Shall Sing” was completed but left off the album. While no one has heard Morrison’s version, Art Garfunkel had a Top 40 hit with the song, which appeared on his 1973 solo debut. There are multiple takes of Morrison’s song included in the deluxe edition, as well as a final mix of the finished song.

Also featured in the deluxe edition: multiple, often lengthy, takes from the recording sessions of nearly every track found on the original “Moondance” LP, including “Glad Tidings,” “Brand New Day” and “Come Running.” There are also early takes of “I’ve Been Working,” a song that later appeared in a vastly different version on “His Band And The Street Choir,” which was released in October 1970.

Packages, prices and details are:

One-CD Standard Edition ($11.98)
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• Track Listing: “And It Stoned Me,” “Moondance,” “Crazy Love,” “Caravan,” “Into The Mystic,” “Come Running,” “These Dreams Of You,” “Brand New Day,” “Everyone” and “Glad Tidings”

Two-CD Expanded Edition ($24.98)
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• 11 previously unreleased tracks: “Caravan” (Take 4), “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake), “Into The Mystic” (Take 11), “Brand New Day” (Take 3), “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version), “Come Running” (Take 2), “Crazy Love” (Mono Mix), “These Dreams Of You” (Alt. Version), “Moondance” (Take 22), “I Shall Sing” (Take 7) and “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version, Take 5).

Five-Disc Deluxe Edition ($69.98)
• Presented in a linen-wrapped folio
• Includes a booklet with liner notes from Alan Light and original engineer Elliot Scheiner
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• One Blu-ray audio-only disc with high-resolution 48K, 24-bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album
• Three discs of previously unreleased music from the sessions, including “What do we call this Van?;” “Caravan” (Takes 1 through 8); “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Takes 1, 2 and 5); “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake); “I Shall Sing” (Takes 1-13); “Into The Mystic” (Takes 10-17); “Brand New Day” (Takes 1-7); “Glad Tidings” (Takes 1-9); “Caravan Redo” (Takes 1-3); “Come Running” (Takes 1-5 plus “Rolling on 4”); “Moondance” (Takes 21-22); “Glad Tidings” (alternate version); “These Dreams of You” (alternate version); “Crazy Love” (remix); “Glad Tidings” (remixes 1-3); “Caravan” (remix); “These Dreams of You” (remix); “I Shall Sing” (mix).

One thought on “Van Morrison’s ‘Moondance’ album gets deluxe edition treatment

  1. Van had no input on this release.
    Warner Brothers’ choice to release the “three discs of previously unreleased music from the sessions” in this format does not appear to address the audience. Recreating the original album’s running order of songs featuring alternate versions would have, perhaps, been more appropriate. Eight consecutive takes of “Into the Mystic”, seven of “Brand New Day” ?
    Warner Brothers, what is the point?

Leave a Reply