American Idol to release ‘Hits’ compilation to celebrate 10th anniversary

LOS ANGELES — For the first time ever, the superstar recording artists from the past 10 years of television’s #1 show American Idol will have their signature songs featured on one compilation. American Idol 10th Anniversary – The Hits will be released on March 15, 2011 with mega-hit singles from the likes of Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Daughtry, Adam Lambert, Fantasia, David Cook and more.

American Idol 10th Anniversary – The Hits spotlights some of Idol’s most successful contestants like Kelly Clarkson’s #1 Billboard Pop 100 hit “Since U Been Gone,” Carrie Underwood’s Grammy award-winning “Before He Cheats” and rock super group Daughtry’s #1 ballad “Home.” Other tracks include season 6 winner Jordin Sparks’ collaboration with R&B’s Chris Brown on “No Air,” heartthrob David Cook’s platinum single “Light On” and Fantasia’s #1 Hot R&B/Hip Hop song “When I See U.” The compilation also highlights Ruben Studdard’s soulful single “Superstar,” Taylor Hicks’ esteemed performance of “Takin’ It To The Streets” and Broadway star Clay Aiken’s 2003 hit “Invisible.” Adam Lambert soars on this years Grammy-nominated “Whataya Want From Me” while current American Idol Lee DeWyze closes out the album with his chart-climbing single “Sweet Serendipity.”

Since its debut in 2002, American Idol, created by Simon Fuller, has become one of the most popular shows in the history of American television. Aerosmith frontman Steven Tyler and global superstar Jennifer Lopez help kick off a second decade of Idol as new judges this season. Together they join twenty-year music industry veteran Randy Jackson and media mastermind Ryan Seacrest for the 10th anniversary season. Throughout the show, contestants will face new and exciting challenges as they compete to become the next American Idol.

American Idol – 10th Anniversary – The Hits – Volume 1:

1. Kelly Clarkson – “Since U Been Gone”
2. Ruben Studdard – “Superstar”
3. Clay Aiken – “Invisible”
4. Fantasia – “When I See U”
5. Carrie Underwood – “Before He Cheats”
6. Taylor Hicks – “Takin’ It To The Streets”
7. Daughtry – “Home”
8. Jordin Sparks (duet with Chris Brown) – “No Air”
9. David Cook – “Light On”
10. Kris Allen – “Live Like We’re Dying”
11. Adam Lambert – “Whataya Want From Me”
12. Lee DeWyze – “Sweet Serendipity”

About Patrick Prince

Patrick Prince is the Editor of Goldmine

2 thoughts on “American Idol to release ‘Hits’ compilation to celebrate 10th anniversary

  1. Right now Jordin Sparks is in Dallas, TX for the Super Bowl working with Allstate to advocate safe teen driving in a program called “X the TXT”. The program is aimed at preventing teen drivers from texting behind the wheel. To learn more about the program visit the Allstate Insurance Digital Newsroom.

Leave a Reply