Gift Horse release their debut ‘Mountain of Youth’ on May 4th

by Gary Fletcher

Athens, GA based outfit Gift Horse release their debut album, Mountain of Youth on May 4th. Album was produced by Hank Sullivant (Kuroma, The Whigs, MGMT) and releases on the Head Down, Eyes Closed label. Gift Horse is Hunter Morris on vocals/keyboards, Mike Stokes on guitar/vocals, Vaughan Lamb on bass, and Brandon Scarboro on drums.  From what I hear, these guys put on a hell of a live show, and opening up for the Meat Puppets, Dead Confederate, and Twin Tigers tells you these guys know how to rock. They create a mixture of shoegaze, grunge and indie-drone resulting in a very atmospheric and emotional wall of sound.

Here’s a live clip of them performing the track, “Plastic People” which is my favorite track on the album.

“Mountain of Youth” by Gift Horse available through iTunes, Amazon or as an $8 digital download directly from the band here

1. Not The Only One
2. Both Of Me
3. Missionaries
4. October House
5. Plastic People
6. Eyes
7. All The Rage
8. James Castle
9. Ninth Hour
10. And When I Die

Sample full-lengths tracks here

Catch them on tour!

  • Monday May 3, 2010 @ Cameo Gallery (Brooklyn, NY) with Twin Tigers
  • Tuesday May 4, 2010 @ Piano’s (Manhattan, NY) with Twin Tigers
  • Wednesday May 5, 2010 @ Garfield Artworks (Pittsburgh, PA) with Twin Tigers
  • Thursday May 6, 2010 @ The Red and The Black (Washington, D.C.) with Twin Tigers
  • Friday May 7, 2010 @ Alley Katz (Richmond, VA)
  • Saturday May 8, 2010 @ LAB (Asheville, NC) with Wages, The Houstons

One thought on “Gift Horse release their debut ‘Mountain of Youth’ on May 4th

  1. magnificent issues altogether, you just gained a logo reader. What may you suggest in regards to your post that you just made a few days in the past? Any sure?

Leave a Reply