Robin Gibb’s concert with Danish National Concert Orchestra out on DVD

Robin Gibb, and his brothers Barry and Maurice, are not only in the Rock ‘N’ Roll Hall of Fame, but the Songwriters Hall of Fame for the songs of the Bee Gees. Now one of the 3 voices can be heard when Eagle Rock Entertainment releases Robin Gibb In Concert With The Danish National Concert Orchestra on DVD in Dolby Digital Stereo on July 12.

Robin Gibb In Concert With The Danish National Concert Orchestra was filmed in the summer of 2009 at Ledreborg Castle in Denmark. The 17-song set is a blend of Bee Gees classics (including “Stayin’ Alive,” “Massachusetts,” “To Love Somebody,” and many others) as well as Robin’s solo material performed with his touring band. The DVD also includes the popular song “Alan Freeman Days” which Robin penned about the late DJ who had much to do with the success of the Bee Gees, and so many other British bands. This is the first time the song has been released in a live version.

The Bee Gees have sold over 200 million albums since forming in Australia in the 1960s. They’re the only songwriters in the UK to have enjoyed #1 hits in each of five straight decades, and have charted 60 hit singles. With over 6,500 known cover versions of their extensive songwriting catalog, their immense influence on pop music is immeasurable. The band recently celebrated their 50-year anniversary, which Eagle Rock Entertainment commemorated with the simultaneous DVD/Blu-ray release of the In Our Own Time documentary (November 2010).

Track Listing:
1) More Than A Woman
2) I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You
3) I Started A Joke
4) How Deep Is Your Love
5) Alan Freeman Days
6) Saved By The Bell
7) Massachusetts
8) To Love Somebody
9) You Win Again
10) Islands In The Stream
11) New York Mining Disaster 1941
12) Night Fever
13) Juliet
14) You Should Be Dancing
15) Jive Talkin’
16) Tragedy
17) Stayin’ Alive

About Patrick Prince

Patrick Prince is the Editor of Goldmine

Leave a Reply