Publish date:

Legacy rolls out all-star goodies for Record Store Day 2012

Legacy's limited-edition Record Store Day exclusives available April 21, 2012, include releases from Ozzy Osbourne, Willie Nelson, Paul Simon, Janis Joplin, Uncle Tupelo, 311, Lou Reed, Miles Davis, The Clash, Patti Smith, Shuggie Otis, Iggy & the Stooges and Tedeschi Trucks Band.

Record Store Day 2012 Ambassador Iggy Pop is one of several artists to get the limited-edition treatment from Legacy Recordings. RSD celebrates its fifth anniversary this year and will be held April 21, 2012. Artists and releases include:

Ozzy Osbourne

• "Ozzy Live" 12-inch LPs (two disc set), 180-gram audiophile vinyl. A limited, numbered collector's edition recorded live on the 1981 Blizzard of Ozz tour with mythic guitarist Randy Rhoads

• "Ozzy Believer Live" 7-inch single. A limited, numbered collector's edition on polka-dot vinyl featuring "Believer" (Live) + "Goodbye to Romance" (2010 guitar and vocal mix)

Willie Nelson

Iggy Pop Record Store Day 2012 Seal

• "Just Breathe" CD single. Features Willie's cover of Pearl Jam's "Just Breathe," a key track from "Heroes," his upcoming new album on Legacy, as well as a non-album cut, "Can I Sleep In Your Arms" (a new recording of a Hank Cochran tune Willie first recorded for "Red-Headed Stranger" in 1975). CD single includes "Come On Back Jesus" (also from "Heroes") and a $2 coupon redeemable for the purchase of "Heroes," which is available May 15.

Iggy and the Stooges

• "Raw Power," 12-inch, 120-gram vinyl LPs (two disc set). This 1973 cornerstone of punk appears on two discs: the original 1973 David Bowie mix on one, the 1997 Iggy Pop mix on the other. The gatefold set includes a 16-page booklet featuring rare photos and liner notes.

Paul Simon

• "Graceland" 12-inch LP, 180-gram audiophile vinyl. The original Grammy Award-winning LP celebrates the 25th anniversary of first release this year. Includes a collectible "Graceland" poster plus a card for downloadable MP3s of the full album and three bonus songs.

Janis Joplin

• "Pearl" 12-inch LP, 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Joplin's farewell studio recordings sourced from the original masters with cover art meticulously recreated from the original.

• "Highlights From The Pearl Sessions" 10-inch vinyl EPs (two disc set). Created exclusively for Record Store Day, this collection includes rare and unreleased studio outtakes of classic songs specifically culled from the recently discovered studio recordings used to create "The Pearl Sessions." "Highlights From The Pearl Sessions" comes packaged in a gatefold jacket with extensive liner notes and rare photographs.

Uncle Tupelo

• "The Seven Inch Singles Box," 7-inch vinyl singles (45 RPM 4-disc set.) Numbered sets including a 14" x 7" poster plus three original replica singles and one previously unreleased 7-inch disc. Singles are: "I Got Drunk" b/w "Sin City"; "Gun" b/w "I Wanna Destroy You"; "Sauget Wind" b/w "Looking For A Way Out" (acoustic)/"Take My Word"; "That Year" (1988 demo) b/w "Pickle River" (1987 demo).

• "No Depression," 12-inch, 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP. Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped.

• "still feel gone," 12-inch, 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP. Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped.

• "March 16-20, 1992," 12-inch, 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP. Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped.


• "Music," 12-inch, 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP. Numbered edition in gatefold jacket, newly mastered by Joe Gastwirt. This marks the first time 311's "Music" has ever been available on vinyl.

Lou Reed

• "Rock N Roll Animal," 12-inch, 120-gram vinyl LP. The classic 1974 live album including "Sweet Jane" in a gatefold sleeve.

• "Transformer," 12-inch, 120-gram vinyl LP. Glam-rock masterpiece from 1972, produced by David Bowie and Mick Ronson, featuring "Walk On The Wild Side," "Perfect Day," "Satellite of Love," "Vicious" and others.

Miles Davis

• "Forever Miles," 12-inch LP. This collection, created especially for Record Store Day, makes five quintessential Miles Davis performances available for the first time on commercial vinyl. A cross-section of tracks from the 1950s, '60s and '70s, "Forever Miles" includes "Dear Old Stockholm," an alternate take from the Miles and John Coltrane box set; "Blues For Pablo," Take 1 from the Miles and Gil Evans box set; "Hand Jive," an alternate take from the Miles Quintet box set; "Early Minor," a new mix from the In A Silent Way box set; and "Directions," an unreleased version from Live at the Fillmore East 1970.

The Clash

• "London Calling 2012," 7-inch single, "London Calling" (2012 mix) and "London Calling" (2012 instrumental), two previously unreleased new mixes by Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Bill Price (engineer on the original "London Calling"). This Record Store Day exclusive features artwork images from Pennie Smith.

Patti Smith

• "Horses," 12-inch, 120-gram vinyl LP. A pillar of the punk rock pantheon, this 1975 album from Patti Smith was her major label debut.

Shuggie Otis

• "Inspiration Information," c/w "Magic," 7-inch single. This limited numbered edition on purple vinyl premieres "Magic," an unreleased diamond from Shuggie's personal archive.

Tedeschi Trucks Band

• "Revelator LIVE" EP, CD single. Contains live versions of songs from Grammy-winning "Revelator" album handpicked from the band's 2011 tour. It also offers a first taste of the band's upcoming live album, "Everybody's Talkin'," the "Revelator LIVE" EP includes an exclusive non-album performance and a $2 coupon redeemable for purchase of "Everybody's Talkin'," which will be released May 22.