Skip to main content

Mike Campbell & The Dirty Knobs are slated to release a new album, External Combustion, on March 4th via BMG. Recorded last summer, the record is Mike Campbell’s second as a band leader, following up Campbell & The Dirty Knobs’ 2020 critically acclaimed debut album, Wreckless Abandon.

External Combustion showcases that Campbell & The Dirty Knobs have evolved, pushing the band to a new level jumping ahead in vision and drive, proving the first record was no one-shot deal. Co-produced by Campbell and George Drakoulias (The Black Crowes, The Jayhawks), the 11-track album was recorded at Campbell’s home studio, Hocus Pocus Recorders in Los Angeles. External Combustion also features Margo Price and Ian Hunter as well as piano from fellow Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers founding member Benmont Tench.

Following the passing of Campbell’s longtime compatriot, friend and bandmate Tom Petty and his performances with Fleetwood Mac on their 2018-2019 World Tour, The Dirty Knobs released their album Wreckless Abandon in 2020 to widespread praise; Forbes declared, “The aptly titled Wreckless Abandon is a wholly rollicking, joyous affair, a record whose 13 songs recall some of Campbell’s finest recorded moments alongside Petty as co-writer." 

RELATED CONTENT: Heartbreakers Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench, both explain Tom Petty’s legacy