Skip to main content

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces Beatles "immersive" exhibition

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame welcomes fans to step into The Beatles’ January 1969 sessions with groundbreaking new exhibition titled "The Beatles: Get Back to Let It Be."
The Featured Exhibit is an Immersive Complement to Peter Jackson’s “The Beatles: Get Back” Docuseries.

The Featured Exhibit is an Immersive Complement to Peter Jackson’s “The Beatles: Get Back” Docuseries.

CLEVELAND, OH (Jan. 27, 2022) – Experience one of the most iconic moments of the 20th Century by stepping inside The Beatles’ January 1969 rehearsals, studio sessions, and legendary Apple Corps rooftop concert, the band’s final live performance. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's newest exhibition, The Beatles: Get Back to Let It Be, opens March 18, 2022.

This groundbreaking exhibition curated by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is an immersive complement to Peter Jackson's docuseries, The Beatles: Get Back.

“The Beatles have had a massive, global impact across generations. We are excited to welcome a diverse mix of fans from around the world to experience this exhibit and are grateful for the support of Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, the estates of John Lennon and George Harrison, Apple Corps Ltd., and Peter Jackson for helping us tell this important story,” said Greg Harris, President & CEO, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Fans will experience The Beatles’ creative journey through the exhibit’s original instruments, clothing, and handwritten lyrics used by The Beatles and seen in the film, including items loaned directly by Paul McCartney, Ringo Star, and the estates of George Harrison and John Lennon. The exhibit will feature high-definition film clips, audio, and custom projections, transporting fans into The Beatles’ vibrant world of January 1969.

Some of the exhibit’s unique items include:

  • Paul McCartney's black and gray shirt that was worn in the studio and handwritten lyrics for "I've Got A Feeling."
  • Ringo Starr's maple Ludwig drum kit and his borrowed red raincoat from the rooftop performance.
  • John Lennon's iconic eyeglasses, Wrangler jacket, an Epiphone electric guitar, and handwritten lyrics for "Dig A Pony."
  • George Harrison's pink pinstripe suit and handwritten lyrics for "I Me Mine."

Fans will also enjoy audio engineer, producer, and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Glyn Johns' record acetate from the sessions and iconic photography by Linda McCartney and by Ethan Russell, who documented the band’s January 1969 rehearsals, sessions, and rooftop performance, and whose photos are featured in the Let It Be album art.

Like Jackson's “Get Back” docuseries, the exhibit shows how The Beatles composed and recorded many of their iconic songs from scratch. The exhibit's three screening rooms feature a selection of footage from each location from the docuseries: Twickenham, Apple Studios, and the Apple Corps rooftop. The footage from the recording sessions and conversations turn the clock back to 1969, showing the intimacy, joyousness, and humor as The Beatles write and record songs for Let It Be and some songs featured on Abbey Road and future solo albums.

Are you a Beatlemaniac? Or inspired by their music? Few musicians have influenced pop culture and the music industry as much as The Beatles. Rock Hall EDU, a free online education platform that has reached over 1.1 million students worldwide, explores The Beatles' story with a new collection inspired by Let It Be. Visit rockhall.com to access the free resources.

  

Beatles rooftop

In addition to The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's newest exhibition, The Beatles: Get Back to Let It Be, the anniversary celebration for The Beatles’ electrifying rooftop performance will continue with several more exciting announcements, tributes, and events.

First off, a new streaming release leads the celebration for this Sunday’s 53rd anniversary of The Beatles’ final live performance atop their Apple Corps Headquarters in London.

On January 30, 1969, The Beatles famously staged their final live performance on the rooftop of their Apple Corps headquarters in London’s Savile Row. This Sunday’s 53rd anniversary will be celebrated with an exciting slate of special releases, events and announcements, with The Beatles leading the charge. For the first time, the complete audio for the band’s legendary rooftop performance has been mixed in stereo and Dolby Atmos by Giles Martin and Sam Okell. Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe will debut The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Performance for global streaming tonight at 9pm PST / 12am EST (tomorrow at 5am GMT).

Stream The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Performance HERE.

Watch a brief video for The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Performance below.

Fans around the world have been exploring The Beatles’ January 1969 sessions and rooftop performance with last fall’s celebrated release of the band’s remixed, expanded Let It Be Special Edition (Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe), Peter Jackson’s “The Beatles: Get Back” docuseries (Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut), and the collectible hardcover book also titled The Beatles: Get Back (Apple Corps Ltd./Callaway). The raw sources explored for the new projects have revealed that a more joyous, benevolent spirit imbued the sessions than was conveyed in the 1970 Let It Be film’s 80 minutes, while also shining a new, warmer light on the Let It Be album.

Tomorrow (Friday, January 28), Norah Jones will release two rooftop tribute performance videos of Beatles songs from the Let It Be album, recently filmed with her band on the rooftop of New York’s Empire State Building. The two performances, “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “Let It Be,” will debut on Norah Jones’ YouTube Channel tomorrow at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT.

On SiriusXM, The Beatles Channel will debut “The Rooftop Concert Special” tomorrow at 11am EST, presenting The Beatles’ entire rooftop performance with commentary by Beatles historian, author, and radio producer Kevin Howlett. The special will re-air throughout the weekend on The Beatles Channel and will also be available to stream on the SXM App.

This Saturday, January 29, The Beatles LOVE by Cirque du Soleil will debut a rooftop performance tribute video for “Get Back” (LOVE Version), featuring cast members from the acclaimed stage production, now in its 15th year of wowing audiences at The Mirage Las Vegas. The performance video will debut on Cirque du Soleil’s YouTube Channel at 6am PST / 9am EST / 2pm GMT. A behind-the-scenes/making-of video for the cast’s rooftop tribute performance will debut an hour later on the channel at 7am PST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT.

This Sunday, January 30, the 53rd anniversary of The Beatles’ rooftop performance, Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut will present a special screening event exclusively at IMAX theaters in the US and UK of “The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Concert.” The 60-minute feature presents The Beatles’ complete rooftop performance following a brief introduction. The special event screenings will begin with an exclusive filmmaker Q&A at 12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT. The concert, which features in its entirety in the Disney+ original docuseries “The Beatles: Get Back,” is optimized for IMAX screens, digitally remastered into the image and sound quality of The IMAX Experience® with proprietary IMAX DMR® (Digital Remastering) technology. Tickets for the Exclusive IMAX Event Screening and Filmmaker Q&A are on sale at: tickets.imax.com.

It’s a wonderful time to be a Beatles fan, as the world shares in the celebration of the band’s innovative and inspiring creativity captured so vividly in January 1969. 

  

Read Goldmine's Let It Be issue by purchasing the back issue in our store.

November_2021 cover