Neil Young brings ‘Le Noise’

Eight-song album, due in late September, features sonic touch of Grammy-winning producer Daniel Lanois
Publish date:
Neil Young

Neil Young

By Chris M. Junior

Fans of Neil Young who like his stripped-down efforts will be pleased to hear that his new album, “Le Noise,” is just “a man on a stool and me doing a nice job on the recording,” according to producer Daniel Lanois.

“Le Noise,” due Sept. 28 on Reprise, was recorded at Lanois’ home in the Silverlake section of Los Angeles.

“He walked in the door, and I put an acoustic guitar into his hands — one that I had been working on to build a new sound,” Lanois said in a news release issued Sept. 1 by Warner Bros. Records. “That’s the multi-layered acoustic sound that you hear on the songs ‘Love and War’ and ‘Peaceful Valley Blvd.’

“I wanted him to understand that I’ve spent years dedicated to the sonics in my home and that I wanted to give him something he’d never heard before,” added Lanois. “He picked up that instrument, which had everything — an acoustic sound, electronica, bass sounds — and he knew as soon as he played it that we had taken the acoustic guitar to a new level. It’s hard to come up with a new sound at the back end of 50 years of rock ’n’ roll, but I think we did it.”

The track listing for “Le Noise” is as follows:

“Walk With Me”

“Sign of Love”

“Rescue Me”

“Love and War”

“Angry World”


“Peaceful Valley Blvd.”


Weekly Showcase


Advertise with us

This Spot Reaches More than 10,000 people a day. Click Here to find out how to Advertise!