Skip to main content

By-decade 4-CD Iggy Pop bootleg to be released in May

Shout! Factory has announced the May 17 release a 4-CD set of remastered bootleg tracks by Iggy Pop, titled "Roadkill Rising: The Bootleg Collection 1977–2009."

Shout! Factory will release a 4-CD set of remastered bootleg tracks byIggy Pop, titled "Roadkill Rising: The Bootleg Collection 1977–2009," on May 17, 2011.

Sequenced by decade, the set focuses on key songs by The Stooges and tracks culled from Pop’s extensive solo catalog, including his hits and an array of covers.

Iggy Pop Roadkill Rising Box Set

Order the set from and receive a gift with purchase: "Iggy Pop – Live in San Francisco – November 27, 1979," a previously unreleased concert CD not available anywhere else, limited to 400 numbered copies.

The collection is a part of a series of “official” bootleg releases by Shout! Factory, with the blessing and participation of artists who can now exact a measure of quality control to provide fans with only the best performances, highest quality recordings, and superior packaging with photos and original illustrations. Previous releases in the series include Emerson Lake & Palmer’s "A Time And A Place" and Todd Rundgren’s "For Lack Of Honest Work." Several more releases are currently in the works.

"Roadkill Rising" features tracks recorded all over the world, including “I Wanna Be Your Dog,” “Lust For Life,” “Real Wild Child,” and “China Girl,” one of many co-writes with David Bowie. Among the other artists Pop covers here are Them (“Gloria”), The Kinks (“You Really Got Me”), Richard Berry (“Louie, Louie), and The McCoys (“Hang On Sloopy”).

DISC 1 – The ’70s
1. Iggy Pop Intro, San Diego State University, San Diego (11/16/77)
2. "Raw Power"
3. "1969"
4. "Funtime," Rainbow Theatre, London, UK (3/7/77)
5. "I Need Somebody"
6. "Search And Destroy," Agora Ballroom, Cleveland (3/22/77)
7. "Turn Blue"
8. "Gimme Danger"
9. "Tonight," Masonic Temple, Detroit (3/25/77)
10. "Fall In Love With Me"
11. "Gloria"
12. "Rock Action," San Diego State University, San Diego, (11/16/77)
13. "Knocking ’Em Down In The City"
14. "New Values"
15. "Play It Safe"
16. "Your Pretty Face Is Going To Hell"
17. "You Really Got Me," Old Waldorf, San Francisco, CA (11/27/79)

DISC 2 – The ’80s
1. Nightclubbing
2. "Puppet World"
3. "One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)"
4. "Take Care of Me," Bookies, Detroit, 9/26/80
5. "Batman" theme
6. "Hang On Sloopy," Music Hall, Toronto (12/3/81)
7. "I Wanna Be your Dog"
8. "Loose"
9. "Real Wild Child"
10. "Sister Midnight," Club 1018, New York (4/5/87)
11. "Blah Blah Blah"
12. "Winners and Losers"
13. "Shades"
14. "Some Weird Sin" Bay Street, Sag Harbor, N.Y. (4/15/87)
15. "Kill City" The Channel, Boston (7/19/88)
16. "High On You" The Ritz, New York (7/20/88)

DISC 3 – The ’90s
1. "Lust For Life"
2. "China Girl"
3. "Butt Town"
4. "Home," Neue Welt, Berlin, Germany (1/26/91)
5. "TV Eye"
6. "The Passenger"
7. "Louie Louie"
8. "Rip It Up," Phoenix Festival, Long Marston Airfield, Stratford-Upon-Avon, U.K. (7/17/94)
9. "Candy"
10. "Five Foot One," Leysin Festival, Leysin, Switzerland (6/12/91)
11. "Caesar"
12. "In The Death Car"
13. "F**king Alone"
14. "Hate"
15. "No Fun," Agora Theatre, Evry, France (4/23/94) 14. Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)

DISC 4: THE '00s
1. "Corruption"
2. "Howl"
3. " The Jerk"
4. "Lost"
5. "Drink New Blood," Bizarre Festival, Weeze, Germany (8/20/01)
6. "Dirt"
7. "Dirt No. 2"
8. "Down On The Street"
9. "Real Cool Time," Glasontbury Festival, England, Pilton, Somerset, U.K. (6/23/07)
10. "Funhouse," The FIB, Benicassim, Spain (7/19/07)
11. "My Idea of Fun"
12. "Not Right"
13. "Skull Ring," The 930 Club, Washington, D.C. (4/5/07)
14. "Les Feuilles Mortes" (Autumn Leaves)
15. "King Of The Dogs"
16. "Spanish Coast"
17. "Willow Weep For Me"
18. "Shotgun," Studio 105, Maison de la Radio, Paris (5/28/09)