Skip to main content
Publish date:

David Bowie 'Diamond Dogs 45th Anniversary' red vinyl to be released in stores only

David Bowie 'Diamond Dogs' 45th Annnivesary red vinyl available May 24 through 'brick and mortar stores' only.

On May 24, 2019, 45 years to the day since the album's original release date, Parlophone will issue a strictly limited one-run-only, red vinyl edition of DIAMOND DOGS featuring the 2016 remaster. This will only be available to "brick and mortar" retail stores.

Image placeholder title

The past two years have seen gold vinyl versions of Hunky Dory and The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars and a silver vinyl release of Aladdin Sane released 45 years to the day of their first issue.

To help celebrate the 45th anniversary of DIAMOND DOGS, there will also be a special one track digital single of the original single mix of "Rebel Rebel."

Preceding the album by more than three months, "Rebel Rebel" peaked at number five on the official U.K. singles chart. The original single mix was substituted by the shorter, "phased" New York Remix single version in North America, featuring a new arrangement and overdubbed vocals. The album originally peaked at number one on the official albums chart in the U.K. and number five on the Billboard album chart in the U.S.

On the 2016 boxed set Who Can I Be Now?, the original single mix of "Rebel Rebel" was taken from a pristine copy of a 45rpm single from the time. The original tape, which had been missing since the mid-1970s, has now been discovered and remastered for this special one track digital single.


Track List

Side One

  1.  "Future Legend"
  2.  "Diamond Dogs"
  3.  "Sweet Thing"
  4.  "Candidate"
  5.  "Sweet Things (Reprise)"
  6.  "Rebel Rebel"

Side Two

  1.  "Rock 'n' Roll With Me"
  2.  "We Are the Dead"
  3.  "1984"
  4.  "Big Brother"
  5.  "Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family"

David Bowie Official Website

David Bowie Official Facebook