Skip to main content

Deep Purple goes symphonic

Almost all of the dates on the band’s first North American tour in four years will feature an orchestra
Deep Purple

Deep Purple

Deep Purple — featuring classic members Ian Gillan (vocals), Roger Glover (bass) and Ian Paice (drums) — will launch its first North American tour in four years on June 3 in Canada. Other stops include New York (June 14 and 15), Detroit (June 17) and Los Angeles (June 24).

With the exception of the June 25 stop in Mountain View, Calif., all dates of the tour (dubbed “The Songs That Built Rock”) will feature the band playing with a symphony orchestra.

Look for Deep Purple, which also includes guitarist Steve Morse and keyboardist Don Airey, to play its signature songs, such as “Smoke on the Water,” “Highway Star” and “Hush.” A new studio album is being targeted for 2012.