Skip to main content

Deep Purple to release boxed set, golden deluxe edition of 'Now What?!'

In honor of Deep Purple's 'Now What?!,' record sales, Ear Music and Eagle Rock Entertainment will release a limited-edition, 2-CD set and 6-disc boxed set.

In honor of Deep Purple's Gold record sales of "Now What?!," Ear Music and Eagle Rock Entertainment will release a limited-edition, 2-CD Golden Deluxe Edition of the studio album, as well as a boxed set Jan. 21, 2014.

(Producer Bob Ezrin helps Deep Purple channel its past with 'Now What?!')

Released in 2013, "Now What?!" achieved Gold sale levels in Germany, Russia, the Czech Republic and Poland, and made it into the British Top 20 for the first time in 20 years. The Golden Deluxe Edition will retail for $20.98; the boxed sell will be released exclusively via for a retail price of $59.98.

Deep Purple box set

(Roger Glover is content to get back to basics with Deep Purple) 

The first disc of the gold edition CD set features the studio album's original 11 tracks ("A Simple Song," "Weirdistan," "Out Of Hand," "Hell To Pay," "BodyLine," "Above and Beyond," "Blood From A Stone," "Uncommon Man," "Aprés Vous" "All The Time in the World" and "Vincent Price") plus two bonus tracks: Jerry Lee Lewis' "It'll Be Me" and the B-side "First Sign of Madness," which previously only was available digitally and on the CD single "Vincent Price." The second disc, "The Now What?! Live Tapes," contains more than 70 minutes of unreleased, high-quality live recordings made while the band was on tour in 2013. The track listing is: "Strange Kind Of Woman" (Live in Rome), "Hard Loving Man" (Live in Aalborg), "Vincent Price" (Live in Aalborg), "Contact Lost" (Live in Aalborg), "All The Time in The World" (Live in Milan), "No One Came" (Live in Gaevle), "BodyLine" (Live in Rome), "Perfect Strangers" (Live in Gaevle), "Above And Beyond" (Live in Milan), "Lazy" (Live in Gaevle); "Black Night" (Live in Rome); and "Smoke On The Water" (Live in Rome). A brand-new booklet, with notes by Ian Gillan, rounds out the package.

(Steve Morse makes his way once again as the new kid in the old school)

The "Now What?!" six-disc boxed set includes the limited-edition CD+DVD; the live performance recording; "Now What?! The Singles" ("All The Time in the World," "Vincent Price," "Above And Beyond"); a collectible sticker and a size large T-shirt and poster exclusive to the boxed set.