Skip to main content

Hear Ozzy Osbourne's crushing new song with Tony Iommi "Degradation Rules"

Black Sabbath bandmates reunite on single from Ozzy’s forthcoming star-studded solo record, 'Patient Number 9'

Goldmine has teamed with Ozzy Osbourne for exclusive, limited-edition vinyl and CD variants of Patient Number 9. Get yours before they're gone!

Heavy metal’s Prince of Darkness is readying his highly anticipated 13th solo album, Patient Number 9, for release on September 9th. Ozzy recently gave fans the first glimpse into what’s coming on the star-studded new record when he shared the title-track featuring Jeff Beck on lead guitar.

Today (July 22nd), Ozzy is giving fans another taste of the new material, with the premiere of “Degradation Rules,” a crushing track that finds him joined by none other than his old Black Sabbath bandmate Tony Iommi.

The song, which you can hear above, is a solid heavy metal outing that's driven by the inimitable riffs of Iommi. (Plus, it features a bit of harmonica that provides a nice throwback to Sabbath’s classic 1970 cut “The Wizard").

Iommi also plays on another Patient Number 9 track, "No Escape From Now." "It was really great working with Tony," Ozzy commented of the guitarist's contributions when the album was first announced. "He's the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for Black Sabbath's 13 album."

The record was produced by Andrew Watt (who also helmed 2020’s Ordinary Man), and along with Iommi and Beck, features a top-notch lineup of collaborators, including Duff McKagan, Eric Clapton, Zakk Wylde, Metallica's Robert Trujillo, Queens of the Stone Age's Josh Homme, Pearl Jam's Mike McCready, Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith, Chris Chaney of Jane's Addiction, and the late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins.

Pre-orders for Patient Number 9 are available now, including Goldmine's exclusive, limited-edition "red, white and blue marble" vinyl variant and picture disc CD — snag your copies before they’re gone!