Skip to main content

Impulse/Verve pairs up albums by modern jazz greats

Series of two-for-one reissues features notable titles from Duke Ellington, Sonny Rollins, Art Blakey and others
Sonny Rollins_On Impulse!

Duke Ellington, McCoy Tyner, Sonny Rollins and Art Blakey are among the artists included in a new two-for-one reissue series from Impulse/Verve.

Due July 26, these packages will pair two Impulse! albums by each artist. In most cases, the albums were both recorded and released in the 1960s. Exceptions include Rollins’ “There Will Never Be Another You,” which was recorded in 1965 but not released until 1978. For this series, that album has been paired with 1965’s “On Impulse!”