Skip to main content

R.E.M. announce new album, "Collapse Into Now"

Warner Bros. Records will release their upcoming new album, "Collapse Into Now," on March 8th, 2011.

December 16th, 2010 — Burbank, CA — R.E.M. have announced that Warner Bros. Records will release their upcoming new album, "Collapse Into Now," on March 8th, 2011. The full-track-listing, which was revealed on R.E.M.’s official website on November 25th, is below. Yesterday, a free download of “Discoverer” was made available to fans that signed up for R.E.M.’s email list via . Those who preorder "Collapse Into Now" on iTunes the week of December 20th will receive an instant download of “It Happened Today.”


For "Collapse Into Now," R.E.M., which is singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, and bassist Mike Mills, re-teamed with Grammy Award-winning producer Jacknife Lee, who produced the band’s acclaimed previous album "Accelerate." Lee is also noted for his work on albums by U2, Snow Patrol, The Hives, and indie stalwarts Kasabian, Editors, Aqualung, and Bloc Party. R.E.M. and Lee recorded the album in New Orleans at the Music Shed and in Berlin at the famed Hansa Studios, where several legendary albums, including David Bowie’s Heroes, U2’s Achtung Baby, and Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life, were made. Additional recording and mixing was done at the venerable Blackbird Studio in Nashville.

The band has also revealed that "Collapse Into Now" features some very special guests: Patti Smith, guitarist Lenny Kaye, Peaches, Eddie Vedder, and The Hidden Cameras frontman Joel Gibb.

"Collapse Into Now" is the follow-up to 2008’s "Accelerate," which debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart, topped the Alternative, Rock, Digital, and Internet (physical goods) charts in the U.S., and debuted at No. 1 in Canada, the U.K., Ireland, Denmark, Norway, Switzerland, and the Czech Republic. It spawned three hit singles “Supernatural Superserious,” “Hollow Man,” and “Man-Sized Wreath.” The band also released a two-CD live set, entitled R.E.M. Live At The Olympia, last October.

The track-listing for "Collapse Into Now" is as follows:

All The Best
Oh My Heart
It Happened Today
Every Day Is Yours To Win
Mine Smell Like Honey
Walk It Back
Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter
That Someone Is You
Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I