Skip to main content
Publish date:

Rhino expands The Replacements' Twin/Tone releases

Rhino retraces the shambolic swath the Replacements cut across the American Underground, reissuing deluxe editions of the influential Minneapolis quartet's Twin/Tone releases: Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out The Trash; Stink; Hootenanny and Let It Be.

Rhino retraces the shambolic swath the influential Minneapolis quartet cut The Replacements across the American Underground, reissuing deluxe editions of the band’s Twin/Tone releases: Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out The Trash, Stink, Hootenanny and Let It Be.

All have been exquisitely remastered and generously embellished with rare and previously unreleased tracks.

Each will be available at all physical retail outlets and at on April 22 for a suggested list price of $18.98 except Stink, which will have a suggested list price of $11.98.

These releases will be followed later this year with similar deluxe versions of The Replacements’ Sire albums including Tim, Pleased To Meet Me, Don’t Tell A Soul and All Shook Down.

Capturing the early years of the band’s acclaimed 11-year run, these three albums and EP spotlight founding members Paul Westerberg, brothers Bob and Tommy Stinson and Chris Mars.

The deluxe editions were produced by longtime Replacements manger Peter Jesperson, who also co-produced the original albums. The band was instrumental in selecting the bonus songs, many of which have never been heard—even among the band’s most ardent followers.

Released in 1981, Sorry Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash was The Replacements’ audacious debut. Songs such as “Takin A Ride,” “Shiftless When Idle,” “Customer” and “Johnny’s Gonna Die” herald the band’s competing tendencies toward indelible genius and bleary, drunken repugnance.

The 13 bonus tracks open appropriately with the four songs Westerberg gave to Jesperson in 1980 that brought the band to Twin/Tone’s attention.

Also included among the previously unreleased songs is an alternate take of “Customer,” plus studio demos and outtakes. The deluxe version ends with “If Only You Were Lonely,” which was previously released as the B-side of “I’m In Trouble.”

Shortly after its debut, The Replacements issued the EP Stink in June 1982. The band was fast becoming Minneapolis’ most exciting new group when this 15-minute adrenaline masterpiece hit the streets.

In the deluxe edition liner notes, Terry Katzman writes, “Here, the band began to merge its ragged sense of honesty with true rock ’n’ roll power. In essence, they had created the perfect monster—a rock band with real guts, humor, and humility.”

All previously unreleased, the four bonus tracks featured here include a trio of session outtakes—“Staples In Her Stomach” and covers of “Hey, Good Lookin’” and “(We’re Gonna) Rock Around The Clock”—plus Westerberg’s solo home demo for “You’re Getting Married.”

Bursting at the seams with ideas and