Varèse Sarabande announces Black Friday vinyl releases

For Record Store Day Black Friday, Varèse Sarabande Records releases "Barbarella: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" picture disc and "Popeye: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" composed by Harry Nilsson.
Publish date:

(November 23, 2016– Los Angeles, CA) – Varèse Sarabande Records announced two album releases in conjunction with Record Store Day Black Friday 2016 on November 25th: Barbarella: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack picture disc composed by Charles Fox and Bob Crewe and Popeye: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack composed by Harry Nilsson.

Previously unavailable since 1975, the first official reissue of Barbarella is also first time that any iconic imagery of Jane Fonda in the signature role has been placed on to picture disc. It has been mastered from the original analog sources used in the initial 1968 release. The Barbarella soundtrack will also be released digitally on December 2, 2016.

The first official vinyl reissue of the Popeye soundtrack contains music & lyrics By Harry Nilsson and features vocals by Robin Williams, Shelly Duvall, and Ray Walston. It also features two previously unreleased score cues from the film. The Varèse Sarabande release has been painstakingly put together to recreate the original vinyl experience as the recording was lovingly mastered from the original analog album masters. The additional score cues were sourced from an original analog stereo master tapes.

BARBARELLA: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Side One:

1. Barbarella Vocal by The Glitterhouse 2:40

2. Goodnight Alfie 1:29

3. Spaceship Out Of Control 1:28

4. Ski Ride 1:56

5. The Hungry Dolls 1:48

6. Love Love Love Drags Me Down Vocal by The Glitterhouse 3:42

7. Pygar Finds Barbarella 1:17

8. I Love All The Love In You Vocal by The Glitterhouse 3:52

9. The Labyrinth 1:11

10. Pygar's New Wings 1:57

11. Fight In Flight 2:39

Side Two:

1. Entrance Into Sogo 1:56

2. Hello Pretty Pretty 1:03

3. Pygar's Persecution 1:16

4. The Black Queen's Beads 3:31

5. Dead Duck 0:34

6. The Pill 1:02

7. Smoke (Viper Vapor) 2:16

8. The Sex Machine 3:17

9. The Chamber Of Dreams 2:23

10. The Destruction Of Sogo 2:27

11. An Angel Is Love Vocal by Bob Crewe 4:23

POPEYE: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Side One:

1. I Yam What I Yam *

2. He Needs Me **

3. Swee Pea's Lullaby *

4. Rough House Fight • Studio Orchestra****

5. Din' We - Robert Fortier (Bill Barnacle - the Town Drunk)

6. Sweethaven - The Citizens of Sweet Haven

7. Blow Me Down *

Side Two:

1. Sailin' * and **

2. It's Not Easy Being Me ***

3. He's Large **

4. I'm Mean - Paul L. Smith (Bluto)

5. Kids Performed ***

6. I'm Popeye the Sailor Man *

7. End Title Medley • Studio Orchestra****

* Performed by Robin Williams (Popeye)

** Performed by Shelly Duvall (Olive Oyl)

*** Performed by Ray Walston (Poopdeck Pappy)

****Previously unreleased on the soundtrack album, but featured in the film

Composed and Arranged by Thomas Pierson

The Record Store Day Black Friday 2016 LP releases of Barbarella: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and Popeye: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack from Varèse Sarabande Records will be available from participating record stores on November 25, 2016. For a list of participating stores please visit BARBARELLA will also be available digitally on December 2, 2016.

Weekly Showcase


Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson to release first solo album

Co-founder, guitarist and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Nancy Wilson of Heart is set to release her first EVER solo album, You and Me on May 7, 2021 via her new label, Carry On Music.